top of page

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

 

© Studio Bricolaged / Petica Watson 2018 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material including but not limited to photographs and text without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, only with PRIOR PERMISSION and provided that full and clear credit is given to Studio Bricolaged with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Abstract Art at City Lit

Another City Lit course, this time with the artist Kate Hardy, whose work I rather like. How can you teach abstract art? How can you judge what is good and not so good. As I write this in retrospect having completed the course, I am not so sure I am any the wiser unfortunately. This was one of the City Lit courses I found to be overvalued, but there were some interesting "ways in" to creating abstract art which can be used as tools to produce abstract work, but disappointingly neither I nor my classmates produced much of value, in my opinion...

Exercise 1

Part 1

Look at various postcards handed around the group and think about:

What do you think the artists' motivations were for making this?

How does space work in this (if at all) - ie, is there an illusion of space, or depth?

Good artists to look at:

Graham Sutherland

Kate Hardy

Jenny Franklin

Klee

DeBuffet

Kandinsky

Hundertwasser

Rothko

Richard Diebenkorn's Ocean Park Series, 1975

How do you define abstraction? What's it mean?

Basically we can have a varying degree of abstraction from reality. You can get the title to signify meaning - eg Klee's Fire in the Evening.

Part 2

The whole class tears out coloured pieces from mags and newspapers, each small group working on a different colour.

Take some old business cards or postcards and choose a colour, then fill with torn bits to make a landscape collage in hues of one colour only.

Think about atmospheric perspective to give a sense of space and depth; how in a landscape the furthest things are more muted and not so vibrant in tone.

One of the most important tips in any art I would say is to make sure there is some CONTRAST.

Here are some of mine:

The next part was to choose one and paint it exactly as you see it from the collage.

I'm not sure I'd want a bright yellowy orange painting on my wall, but you get the jist of the exercise. One way into making an abstract painting.

So I went from this collage:

IMG_2190

to this painting. I much prefer the collage! And the lime green with orange is quite yuk!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page