top of page

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

 

© Studio Bricolaged / Petica Watson 2018 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material including but not limited to photographs and text without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, only with PRIOR PERMISSION and provided that full and clear credit is given to Studio Bricolaged with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

City Lit Painting 2

So we're moving on with our paintings and once I'd decided on a strategy - painting the street scene of the dolls' house shop, which is called Kristin Baybar's, in Gospel Oak - and painting over that street scene to only let it show through via some large factory windows , then "abstractising" those windows more exaggeratedly. THat was my strategy. It was interesting. But is the final result a proper painting?? I don't know. But I like the colours. And, let me emphasise, I would not have liked the painting to remain as colourful as it was, I did it like that because I knew that I would be covering over half of it in creamy white... otherwise all that colour would have been too overwhelming.

Here was version 1: (It's very "illustration-y" I feel... It's like I had to do this this way in order to get to the more painterly way...

Here was the other - simultaneous version - on canvas, which I really liked though it was hard work.

And here is Version 2 after finishing the window "overlay".

Here are some closeups and other studies.

And here are my colleagues' excellent efforts.

As usual I am restless and though I love windows and buildings I am ready to leave this particular project behind! The Kentish Town theme was inspired by remembering some old photos of the area which my mother and father had taken. In the end I couldn'dt find the photos I remembered, which was sad - where are they? Gospel Oak was where I spent some of my childhood when my mother was still alive and though it doesn't necessarily come through in the painting, there is a sense of nostalgia, of peering through misty windows, faded memories, looking back to the past, somehow. More on this theme later.

I think the almost psychedelic colours also allude to a pretend or imagined world, the world of dolls' in their houses. Certainly Kristin Baybar's shop is like a magical miniature world. Incidentally, now she's 81, but it's the same as it was 35 years ago - and she still doesn't like children!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page