top of page

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

 

© Studio Bricolaged / Petica Watson 2018 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material including but not limited to photographs and text without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, only with PRIOR PERMISSION and provided that full and clear credit is given to Studio Bricolaged with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

CFLA Yr 1 Sculpture 4 (Last Session)

Alright, alright, I did end up enjoying this sculpture lark a bit... Once I started losing attachment to how to it was going to come out and what it meant!

Over the week I'd experimented with jelly in place of resin. I could only find strawberry jelly near me and only a tupperware container to hold it in.

I then turned it out of the mold, but it collapsed - predictably. Even though I made it with less water than you normally would.

Looks like a strange monster emerging from a jelly-like primordial soup...

After I cleaned this it smelled of strawberry jelly - which gave the sculpture an added dimension...

Anyway I'm still interested in doing this in resin, for example re-creating the original block, then sanding it down and cutting it up and sanding some more. Shall have to wait till I can find a resin course.

So this week I chipped away at the old block a bit more and tried to give the tool marks a bit more integrity, ie, more consciously directional markings. Then I decided to scorch the raised ridges of these too marks to emphasise them, which was fun, with a creme brulee burner torch . However I also wanted to see how smooth I could get some parts of it, because I do like tactility, so I smoothed down one side.

Here's what it looks like now:

The smooth side:

The scorched side:

In situ currently, though I could also dangle it from a tree or one day encase it in resin:

Some other ideas:

Introduce lighting and shadow - and maybe even the maquette back in,

Turn it back into 2d using photography, and paint it (see my previous experiments in last post)

Paint some parts of it. Lime it, bleach it

Cast it into different materials , so eg resin - Rather than getting the resin to bond with it, you take the resin off after it's hardened, to get the negative.

Play with scale in Photoshop by putting some figures into the photo!

Put yoghurt on it and leave it outside to gather moss, taking the wood back to where it came from.

I'm very attracted to land art and using nature's processes, not sure how to incorporate into my work yet.

Spotlight on it in a dark room so it looks like it's hovering...

Throw it in the air and take a photo of it against the clouds

Submerge it in kinetic sand and take photos


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page