top of page

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

 

© Studio Bricolaged / Petica Watson 2018 Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material including but not limited to photographs and text without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, only with PRIOR PERMISSION and provided that full and clear credit is given to Studio Bricolaged with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Drawing 2 session 3 and 4 -Minerals On Boxes???

In sessions 3 and 4 of this more advanced drawing we basically had to choose one of our mineral/rock drawings and transpose the marks exactly scaled up on to our earlier dissected-box perspective drawing. Weird idea really. I suppose the point was to see where the drawing takes you, respond to the drawing itself as it progresses. It wasn't necessarily about the minerals anymore but about the mark-making. But mine early on soon started to look like a prawn on a diving board and then turned into some sort of kitsch fantasy-world which seemed far too cartoony to me and I really didn't want to be associated with that kind of drawing. It was hard to get away from that idea once it came into my head. Tony said I did manage to move it away from kitsch successfully but I think it's just too overwhelmingly much.

If you ask me, session 4 should have gone in a different direction as mine ended up being overworked. I would have preferred to spend the last session learning something actually useful - perhaps a portrait drawing or going outside and drawing architecture. But that is far too literal for this course, it seems.

Progressive photos here:

At one point Tony suggested we used some of our failed prints from the print making sessions - could we cut them up, and use them somehow. I did realise how my prints were very similar in feel to the minerals, the natural forms in the rock have a definite connection to the strange dendritic channels/ map work that I produced in January.

I like these forms and patterns, I am just not sure what to do with them! But why do I have to do anything with them??

My colleagues' work:


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page